Some SPG Award Changes to Take Note in Southeast Asia

Your SPG Starpoints could be worth a lot more (or less) from 01 March 2016! In case you haven't heard, Starwood will be implementing some changes to the 2016 Award Category for hotel room night redemption. 

Hotel Old Category New Category
Increase in Category
The Westin Singapore 5 6
W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak 6 7
The St. Regis Osaka 5 6
Sheraton Samui Resort 3 4
Decrease in Category
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane 4 3
Le Méridien Bali Jimbaran 4 3
The St. Regis Bangkok 6 5

Here are some properties to take note with the upcoming changes (especially if you have plans to redeem for room nights). Within Singapore, The Westin Singapore will move from Category 5 to Category 6, making it a bad idea to redeem for room nights since it is relatively affordable on weekends. The redemption for Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane is a good move however since room rates in Brisbane may fluctuate quite a bit depending on occupancy. 

Photo Credit: Starwood

Photo Credit: Starwood

The new changes do not seem like a good move to us folks in the Asia-Pacific region especially with the uncertainty that lurks with the SPG programme now that Marriott has acquired the company.